Skip to content

Call Of the WinterChef

June 20, 2011

(Full disclosure: I’m not a “foodie”. I’ve grown up watching the women in my life seriously struggle with what and how much they ate. I resent the culture in which women are taught to police other womens’ eating, as well as their own. The only discussion I’ve allowed others to have with me concerning food lately is: “Does what I’m eating taste good?” Anything beyond that will be met with an eyeroll.)

I’ll never understand the obsession with food. You procure it, you consume it, you expel it as waste products. Repeat ad nauseum. Yet, everyone has an opinion about it. We all have to eat, the saying goes – and we all have complicated relationships with that which we need to nourish us.

Just as the United States has seen a huge increase in cooking and food themed shows in the past 5 years, so has the metal world. There are two metal themed recipe books published, various online metal cooking shows, and metal themed restaurants popping up in major cities. What the hell is going on here?

I had a laugh at the theatrics of the Black Metal Cookies troupe and Metal Chef with Kragoth the Barbarian. Their take on the subject was pretty transparent – a winking acknowledgement that cooking is made much more entertaining when you slap on some corpsepaint, exaggerate your movements, and crack some jokes that border between corny and clever. It’s also worth noting that the food is not the focus of these shows. It’s a vehicle for humorous parody – merely by virtue of juxtaposing metal’s brutality and theatrics with what can be considered inane domesticity.

The other shows don’t resonate with me. I spend all my time trying to avoid thinking about preparing food (there are very few dishes I actually enjoy making), and here they are, agonizing over whether the bacon is done, or whether a recipe is feasible. Why, oh why are you making this a serious attempt to teach me to create an entree? Fuck it, I’ll just make some Ramen and be done with it!

Food is inherently gendered and political. There’s no getting around the fact that women are encouraged by modern socialization to consume less food, or if you MUST consume food, to feel guilty for doing so. Women are held responsible for and judged on their ability to maintain a household – which involves a certain amount of food prep. In this context, food production is devalued work that women are just expected to perform. Men dominate the food-as-swanky-occupation realm. When they cook or serve food, the work takes on a new sophistication.

So, if women are unpaid drudge cooks and men get celebrity and status for food prep, would metal cooking culture look the same if it were female metalheads at work to create the most brutal dishes? Would it be seen as parody, or as too close to our own household arrangements? I still have yet to hear, “Get back in the kitchen, ya feminist metalhead!” but that could be because I’m a formidable force with weapons found outside the hearth-room.

I can say one good thing about food, though – it gives people a reason to stay in the same room. Food is very social, and can be the building block on which we create community. Is that why metalheads have a renewed passion for consumables? Our traditional place to hang out together is metal shows, and those can be loud chaotic affairs where we only get to know each other if we can shout loudly enough between sets.

I have hosted and attended a few parties where my friends and I listened to some good music and ate some edible food and had a good time. The good times might have been aided by the booze… I digress.

Why do people make these shows, books, and restaurants? Weigh in, because I’m kind of baffled here. And hungry. I think the Ramen is done.

\m/ – Ms. Anthropia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 12:27 pm

    For me, I only like to cook the dishes that seem to me to have some magic in them. Baking, for example – take lots of wet things and dry things and make a neither wet nor dry thing that puffs up like crazy! Or making yogurt. The rest of cooking for me is pretty much “throw some stuff in a pot and eat whatever it turns into”

  2. ladydoom permalink
    June 23, 2011 1:31 pm

    I think it’s one more way to commodify the Metal community. Also, the undercurrents and pastimes in the scene as a whole seem to be changing, becoming more domestic. Look at all the guys in Scandinavia, they’re pretty much into fishing and camping, most of the black metallers use nature as their muse.
    Gone are the days of cocaine, fast cars, and trashing hotel rooms. Bring on the mortgage, grill, and 2.5 kids.
    I have to admit I did a major eye roll when I saw the cover of Hellbent..I looked up the authors credentials, (Annick Geroux)and she’s a pretty big player in the scene, author of Morbid Tales zine, has interviewed some awesome bands. I just fear she’ll be widely known as the cutie pie in an apron on the cover of a cookbook.
    What’s funny about these cookbooks is the majority of contributions are from dudes! Put Lemmy in a fucking patched out apron on the cover!

  3. June 6, 2012 9:59 pm

    Have you seen this? pretty cute

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

